An evening in St. Petersburg – December 2013

This is a small series of photos taken over a few hours of walking through St. Petersburg last month. This was the only free evening I had, and for some reason a kind of gloomy, weird and slightly unsettling photos resulted from it. I don’t think it’s representative of the city – just a very particular look at it. I’ll be back there in May, probably with different photographic results 🙂

Chair and drainpipe
Chair and drainpipe (the first thing I stumbled upon after exiting from the back door of the concert hall)

Looming
Vertical No. 1: Looming (looking up from the same spot)

Kazan Cathedral
Vertical No. 2: Kazan Cathedral 

Waiting for the car
Vertical No. 3: Waiting for the car (first non-gloomy shot)

New Orleans
Vertical No. 4: New Orleans (back to the gloom. And, I know, wrong city. But this vampire-in-a-coffin relief just jumped at me. [Not literally.])

Church of the Saviour on Blood
Church of the Saviour on Blood. I love this church (even though it’s considered garish by St. Peterburg’s tasteful standards), but whatever angle I tried gave nothing but hackneyed results.  I ended up taking the photo through a semi-transparent plastic awning on a nearby booth, and later applying an invert/solarize curve in post-processing. I’m not totally convinced I like this image, but at least it’s not hackneyed (I think).  I do like the slightly drowned look.

Yellow
Yellow (non-gloomy shot No. 2, and much more to my taste!)

The smokerThe smoker.

***

That’s it, see you next time!

11 thoughts on “An evening in St. Petersburg – December 2013

  1. PS: looking at the images again, really some great captures…..look at ‘la Cathédrale engloutie’, incredible! ‘The smoker’ is Great Art, like in those great old movies from the forties. Thought provoking…….Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Классные фото! Хотя немного неожиданные, по некоторым бы не сразу догадалась, что это Петербург.
    И – как настоящие картины 🙂 Казанский и Спас особенно красиво получились.
    Но, на самом деле, Питер в декабре-январе был волшебный; сейчас уже сняли новогоднюю иллюминацию, но, все равно, он сказочный 🙂 надеюсь, наш город в мае Вам откроется и с других сторон 🙂 Если у Вас будет время и будет интересно – обращайтесь, проведу небольшую экскурсию, расскажу про Петербург 🙂
    А вообще, было очень интересно взглянуть на знакомые места по-новому. Замечательные работы! Спасибо большое 🙂

    • Большое спасибо, Света! Мне и самому показалось, что на Питер это мало похоже… Но у меня было всего два часа, времени искать кадры не было, так что я фотографировал всё, что привлекало глаз или воображение. Уверен, что в мае результаты будут другими. 🙂

  3. Dear Boris, they are good photos!!!, I like alot the Vertical No. 3 (my favorite), maybe because I like the Hats 🙂 (you know how much I love the hats) and the smoker is a great photo too 🙂 . I will be waiting for more photos 🙂 ps: I like the symbol with the arrow (up) it says me : she is waiting 🙂 for something 🙂 maybe for a car 🙂 hahah 🙂 . Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

